Monday, August 31, 2009
The Italian Way
13. The bankomats here have these security entrances that are rotating doors where you have to push a button and the front opens, then step in and the door closes then the other side opens. Mad clostrophobic
The Italian Way
1. Have a conversation with the door man
2. Eat your pizza cold
3. Pay for your bags at the grocery store
4. Door knobs dont twist, they have buttons
5. Toilet seats are a luxury
6. Nuns still exist
7. Park where ever you feel like
8. Traffic signs are for tourists
9. No tipping
10. Close shop whenever possible
11. Hang dry your clothes
12. Stare
If You Reject
the food, ignore the customs, fear the religion and avoid the people, you might better stay home. ~James Michener
Sunday, August 30, 2009
Asian Italians
So this past night (not the one in the previous post) we went out on a hunt for sushi. We found chinese and they spoke broken english so we decided it was our best bet. In Italy restaurants dont believe in timing meals so everyone's is ready at the same time nor apparently do they believe in fortune cookies. and they all charge for tap water. And italians sit for hours at restaurants and always finish their entire plate so its kinda hard to get a bill when we want to leave after twenty minutes and have plates to go - which they also dont do. Pictures to come soon
Last Night's Adventure
So between this castle and 8 am we were pretty busy all over the place. First we made our first meal because we were still hungry from the gross one.
Then we decided to go watch the sunrise. We left at about 4 and walked most of the city.
Heres the castle in some light. Its closed now until next summer
If you've seen angels and demons a lot of these statues are in it and the castle is where the prisons and secret passage in the movie are.






Then we decided to go watch the sunrise. We left at about 4 and walked most of the city.
Heres the castle in some light. Its closed now until next summer
If you've seen angels and demons a lot of these statues are in it and the castle is where the prisons and secret passage in the movie are.

The Vatican

Roma <3



Jet Lagggg
Yesterday we got in at about 8 in the morning and i was planning on waking up at noon to go to the market and get some food so i didn't have to spend all my money eating pizza from hole in the wall stands..but Piccell cell phones suck and the alarm couldn't wake up a sleeping baby so i (along with my friends) woke up at about 4pm and we still have yet to take showers.
Saturday, August 29, 2009
Ohhhh What a big castle you have...
So a few of us decide to go wandering this evening. First we hit a restaurant with english subtitles on the menu. it was great.
until we got our food...then it wasn't so great
so then we went to this castle i dont know what its called but its right by the Vatican. its def. not like any american land mark cause they dont protect anything for historical purposes and you can walk all around inside . they even have like a little art market inside and there are like three restaurants. it was dark so the best picture i got of it and me is still kinda blurry
and there was a market outside selling all kinds of weird stuff. they had cell phone charms that looked like half smoked cigarettes for 1 euro.
this is a view from the castle loooking over St. Peters
The View
from our dorm is AMAZING. this morning i popped my head outside the bathroom window and look what i saw
This was a nun sweeping and watering the plants. So adorable
And this is the view down the street...
...and from the other side
and some dome idk which one but i can see it from the bano! (haha thats spanish)
Friday, August 28, 2009
Welcome to Rome
After who knows how many hours of flying I've finally arrived in Rome!
Some new friends I picked up at the Dulles airport waiting to fly to Rome.
But peep the creepy lady behind Melanie who just can't help herself but to be so interested in our conversations.
And this is our - how do you say- Roman tour guide.
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)

